FCI Island Danmark Sverige Norge Tyskland Holland Finland


ISIC is an abbreviation for the Icelandic Sheepdog International Cooperation.

Member nations are: Austria, Denmark, Finland, Germany, Iceland, the Netherlands, Norway, Sweden, Switzerlandand and USA.

ISIC's main purpose is to help and encourage cross-border cooperation in all matters that will benefit and preserve the Icelandic Sheepdog.

Short history:

In 1994 the Icelandic Kennel Club, HRFÍ, and the Icelandic breed-club, DÍF, after many years of work, succeeded in convincing the Icelandic Parliament, the Allthingi, that it was a national responsibility to preserve the Icelandic Sheepdog as an inheritance of Icelandic culture.

Allthingi decided to give the Minister of Agriculture the mission to form a committee in Iceland with the purpose to overlook the future of the Icelandic Sheepdog as a national breed to preserve.

The HRFÍ chairman of that time, Gudrun R. Gudjohnsen, became one of the committee-members. When the majority of the committee thought they were ready for a final proposal, HRFÍ did not agree. According to them, a lot of basic information necessary for the final proposal was missing.

HRFÍ and DÍF looked for support abroad, mainly in Sweden, and with the help of the swedish breedclub, Islandhunden-Sverige, the first international breed-club support was given through a common document to the Nordic Kennel Union in january 1996, signed by breedclubs and representatives from Sweden, Norway, Denmark, Holland and Finland.

This was the real start of official international cooperation between responsible breedclubs/breedrepresentatives and resulted in international seminars in Sweden 1996, Iceland 1997, the Hetherlands 1998, Denmark 1999, Norway 2000, Finland 2001, Sweden 2002, Germany 2003, Denmark 2004, Denmark 2005, Denmark 2006, Denmark 2007, Denmark 2008, Iceland 2009, Finland 2010, the Netherlands 2011, Norway 2012, Denmark 2013 and Sweden 2014.

At the seminar in 1996, ISIC was formed and three persons appointed for the mission: Gudrun R. Gudjohnsen (chairman), Hans-Åke Sperne (secretary) and Arni Eymundsson (cashier).
In 2007, Arni Eymoundsson left the committee and Wilfred Olsen was appointed as new treasurer. In 2013, Hans-Åke Sperne left the committee and in 2014 Gudrun R. Gudjohnsen and Wilfred Olsen left the committee.

Svend Brandt Jensen (in 2012), Katariina Jarkko (in 2013) and Ingbritt Sannel (in 2014) was appointed as new members in the executive committee.

The present day situation

One of the main issues have been to find a common computer programme for the registration of dogs, so that all registered dogs in the member countries can be brought together in a database. This will facilitate the tracking of inherital diseases, as well as making it easier to expand the breeding material and avoid excessive inbreeding.

Much work has been done by Pieter Oliehoek in Holland to get the different databases put together, as well as to analyze the genetic variation in the dog population.



Webdesign © 2012 Andebu Web og IT